AFLW Champions

“When women support each other, incredible things happen.”

Author Unknown

AFLW Champions

The AFL Women’s league is Australia’s national Australian rules football league for female players. The first season of the league began in February 2017 with 8 teams, expanded to 10 teams in the 2019 season, and expanded to 14 teams in the 2020 season. Through The Footy Factory, several AFLW athletes are working with the Centennial Tigers to celebrate this sport. This page will continue to be updated with ambassadors!

Mimi Hill, Carlton Football Club

Mimi debuted in the first round of the 2021 AFLW season for the Blue Baggers. She was selected as the 12th overall pick in the 2020 draft and continues to impress with her speed, strength and clean hands. Mimi has also been named as a Rising Star by the AFLW.

Chloe Molloy, Collingwood Football Club

Chloe was Collingwood’s first draft pick in the 2017 NAB AFLW draft. She won the AFL Women’s Rising Star award and placed second in the league’s best and fairest. Chloe was the youngest player to be selected to the 2018 AFLW All-Australian Team.

Lucy McEvoy, Carlton Football Club

Lucy is a natural leader and officially became a Blue after being selected with pick No.2 in the 2019 NAB AFL Women’s Draft. McEvoy was an All-Australian in 2019 after starring in the NAB League, the NAB AFLW Under 18 Championships (Vic Country) and VFLW competition (Geelong).

Gabby Newton, Western Bulldogs Football Club

Gabby was the No. 1 pick in the 2019 NAB AFL Women’s Draft. She captained the Northern Knights to the 2019 NAB League Girls premiership, while claiming back-to-back Knights’ best and fairest honors. Was also named in NAB League Team of the Year, while earning All-Australian selection for the second year running.

Brooke Vernon, Carlton Football Club

Brooke Vernon was the 26th overall pick in the 2019 NAB AFLW draft. She debuted for the Carlton Blues in 2020. Previously she played as a forward but embraced a position change to the defense where she starred. Brooke faced a devastating injury in 2021 but worked hard to get back into prime physique.

Connect with us on social media!

©️2022 Material displayed on this website is not to be used without permission from the Centennial Tigers Australian Rules Football Club.

%d bloggers like this: